I am very disappointed with My Izakaya - Ministry of Food (a non-veg Japanese cuisine outlet serving some vegetarian options). Some of you may have read my review on the vegetarian options in this post about their soba noodles. This was a terrible mistake, the soba is not vegetarian! I am very sorry if I had mislead you to have the dish at that place.
The other day I went there again with my non-veg friends. The waiter told me the soba was not vegetarian and that they used fish extract in the soup. (When I went there the first time, another waiter told me the dish is vegetarian and no fish or meat extract was used!) The waiter then started to point out to me those dishes that were vegetarian. And guess what? Many of the dishes with the "broccoli" symbol beside it (suppose to mean the dish has got no meat) are actually not vegetarian - not even ovo-lacto vegetarian.
I asked the waiter why is it they put the "broccoli" symbol besides those dishes which were not vegetarian as it was very misleading to unknowing vegetarian customers, and I was told that's because there are many versions of vegetarians. But most vegetarians don't eat meat or fish extract, I thought this was common knowledge.
Anyway, if you have to eat at My Izakaya, there are though a few things vegetarians can eat that this more ingredient savvy waiter pointed out. The fried vegetable tempura (no egg used in the tempura), the radish sushi, and sesame sushi, and a couple of other things.
After this incident, I have lost a lot of confidence with the non-vegetarian outlets. The waiters and waitresses may simply not be educated enough on the concept of vegetarianism and lead you to make the wrong choices. My best suggestion would be that if food outlets were to call their food vegetarian they must make sure they state "Contain/Does not contain meat and fish derivatives, egg, dairy, animal products, derivatives of animal products etc."
Whenever you can, stick to veg outlets.
New Fut Kai Vegetarian Restaurant
7 hours ago